23.10.17

Release Day Blitz: Too Distracting (The Lewis Cousins, #3) by Bethany Lopez


Today, I'm thrilled to be part of the release day launch for TOO DISTRACTING by Bethany Lopez! 

Too Distracting is the third book in a contemporary romance series, The Lewis Cousins. Check out the teasers and buy links below. The rest of the series is ON SALE for a very limited time!

Purchase for $2.99 


Too Distracting by Bethany Lopez
(The Lewis Cousins, #3) 
Contemporary Romance 
 Coming October 23 
Add the book to Goodreads

Synopsis:
As the successful and driven CEO of Lewis Sporting Goods, Dillon rarely has time to eat a home cooked meal, let alone put any time or effort into maintaining an actual relationship. He's been living on fumes and casual encounters for so long that finding love and starting a family never even crossed his mind, until his cousins Gabe and Reardon found women who gave them both.

Laurel has been in love with Dillon since she was nine years old. Unfortunately, he's always seen her as his little sister's pesky best friend. She can't stop her heart from beating frantically whenever he's near, but she's become an expert at keeping her feelings from everyone, especially Dillon. Her secret has been safe, until now...

When Laurel needs help with her business plan, her best friend urges her to seek help from Dillon. Determined to push her feelings aside and focus on her fledgling business, Laurel knows she needs to do whatever it takes to succeed, even if it means being treated to indifference and big brother teasing from the man she loves.

Can Laurel work with Dillon and still keep her heart intact, or will things get Too Distracting when Dillon realizes what a beautiful, kind, and generous woman she has become?

Too Distracting is the third in an all-new small-town romance series by Bethany Lopez. Follow the Lewis cousins as they learn about love and loss in Cherry Springs, the kind of place where there are festivals for every occasion and everyone knows your business.
Pre-order for $2.99



PURCHASE THE PREVIOUS BOOKS IN THE SERIES

TOO TEMPTING (Available now!)

TOO COMPLICATED (Available now!)


-----------------------
Award-Winning Author Bethany Lopez began self-publishing in June 2011. She's a lover of all things romance: books, movies, music, and life, and she incorporates that into the books she writes. When she isn't reading or writing, she loves spending time with her husband and children, traveling whenever possible. Some of her favorite things are: Kristen Ashley Books, coffee in the morning, and In N Out burgers.
AUTHOR LINKS:

Sign up for Bethany's Newsletter

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Pinterest | Amazon




22.10.17

Review: The History Makers by Val Bodurtha


Summary/Cover Image from Author's Website
By the time Spanish explorers reached the Americas, the Aztec Empire was one of the greatest in the world. The ancient priests would slaughter human sacrifices, sometimes by the thousands, all under the claim that their gods needed blood to make the sun rise every day. What would have happened had this empire prevailed over the Spanish and survived to this day? How would its bloodthirsty theocracy fit in with our world?

Myla is an upper-class teenager in modern-day Azteca, partying her days away with her friends and the man who has claimed her as his wife. On her seventeenth birthday, she is finally “enlightened” and told the truth: that the Priesthood is lying to everyone. Then, in an intriguing twist of fate, she finds herself in the hands of Aztec’s rebels and their leader, Tezca.

Myla must now sort through all the lies she has been told her whole life and confront old secrets buried deep. Can she trust these people? Are they terrorists or revolutionaries? And will she join them to dismantle the theocracy and its lies, or will the price she would pay be too high?

Review:

Growing up I was always fascinated by the bloody history surrounding the Aztec Empire. Surprisingly enough, I never realized how awesome of a YA book its history would make until Val Bodurtha's The History Makers landed on my radar.  

As it turns out, The History Makers was a fantastic debut. Perfectly blending tougher the beliefs of the Aztec Empire with a modern day teenager's coming of age, The History Makers is quite simply unputadownable. 

From the first page, I liked Myla. She was quiet and somewhat reserved; however, it was easy to tell how much she loved her best friend and little brother. That detail in particular made her easy to relate to from the start. Over the course of the book, Myla does a lot of growing up, and learns how to think and fend for herself. I enjoyed seeing this transition occurred, and better yet, I loved that it wasn't "perfect." Myla didn't just wake up on day and become this fierce fighter; instead, it was gradual transition with lots of ups and downs - moments of strength and weakness. In addition to Myla, I also enjoyed the rest of the characters that were introduced. All of them were not only well developed but incredibly lovable; however, I will say I had a soft spot for Tezca in particular. He reminded me of a Azetec, rebel leader like Dimitri from Vampire Academy, and while he didn't replace Dimitri in my heart (no one every can BTW), he was still pretty darn swoon-worthy. 

One of the aspect that drew me to The History Makers was setting so I was delighted by Val's fantastic world building. I enjoyed how Val Bodurtha took the beliefs and history of the Aztec Empire and gave it a modern twist. Not only was she able to make it her "own" but she also did so in a way that was well developed and fleshed out. There was rarely a time where I was left confused. 

The plot of The History Makers was filled with ample action as well as twists and turns. Better yet, it also focused on friendship and romance. It was always exciting to see what the rebels had planed, especially when the stakes for high risk. I also enjoyed seeing Val find a home within the rebel camp. Not only did it allow for character development, but it also caused for a lot of smiles and even a tiny bit of drama. The romance was light in this; however, I liked the slow burn feel to it. It made it more believable, in my opinion. 

There were two tiny things, however, that I didn't quite like about this one. For one, I felt that the dialogue was awkward and slightly stilted at times. Sometimes it took a while to get to the "meat" of the conversation since there was a lot of pleasantries thrown around...a lot of "hi, how are you." Additionally, the transiting was slightly rough at times too - sometimes including a little too much telling rather than showing. As the book progressed, though, this aspect got better and better. 

Regardless, The History Makers is a strong debut, perfect for fans of Veronica Roth! Val Bodurtha has definitely landed on my authors to watch list. I can't wait to see how her talent grows! 

Grade: B+

The History Makers is now out!

Source: eARC provided by publicist



Buy Links:


Author Links:


Stacking the Shelves/Sunday Post (16 & 17)







Stacking the Shelves is hosted by Tynga's Reviews and focuses on new books that were received/bought/borrowed this week while the Sunday Post is hosted by the Caffeinated Book Reviewer and focuses on recapping your week. 

New Books this Week:   

  

  

  

 

For Review: 

Together at Midnight by Jennifer Castle 
Nothing but Sky by Amy Trueblood 
Nice Try, Jane Sinner by Liaanne Oelke 
Diamonds for Christmas (Juniper Falls #3) by Holly Blair
Ready to Fall by Marcella Pixley
The Broken Girls by Simone St. James
Too Distracting (The Lewis Cousins #3) by Bethany Lopez
A Husband by New Year's (The McClendon Holiday Series #4) by Sean D. Young
Wrapped Up in You by Cyn D. Blackburn

 Much thanks goes to HarperCollins, Entangled, Inkslinger PR, Penguin's First to Read, Flux Books, Clarion Books, Holly Blair, Marcella Pixley/Macmillian, and Brandi at Flutter Communications!! 

Bought: 

Ringer by Lauren Oliver 


Won: 


The Castaways by Jessika Fleck + swag 

Thanks Jessika!! 

New in my Reading/Blogging/Personal Life: 

Another hectic week, but I survived and that's what counts, right? To celebrate getting through the week I went and got my nails done yesterday. I know it's a slightly expensive habit, but it's one of my guilty pleasures lol now they're deep red - perfect for the Fall! 

I'm super excited about all the books I've received over the last two weeks. TOGETHER AT MIDNIGHT has been high on my wish list ever since I first stumbled upon. Also, can we talk about how gorgeous the cover is for NOTHING BUT SKY?! I also couldn't resist breaking my book buying ban and buying RINGER. I just need to know what happens next to Lyra and Gemma! 

As for books read, I read a few this week. My favorite out of the bunch was BONFIRE by Krysten Ritter. I love Krysten's TV shows but I wasn't quite sure what to expect with her books...as it turns out I was blow away! It was captivating as well as dark and twisty. I was so sad to see it end. 

Anyhow, that's it for me! 

Twitter | Bloglovin | Goodreads 

Have a great week everyone! :) 
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Design by Imagination Designs
Artwork by www.CreateTheCut.com